Our Word, Our Bond

Welcome

The Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers German Branch e.V. was founded in February 1996 in Hamburg as a branch of the Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers (ICS), London.

The aim of the German branch is to promote the standards of the Institute which are a world standard level of apprenticeship as well as the motto “Our word – our bond”.

The German Branch e.V. is also acting as a direct representative of all German ICS Members and Fellows towards the Head Office in London.

The interest in an internationally recognised shipping apprenticeship and the opportunity to use the worldwide network of experts (currently there are about 4.000 members registered in one of the 25 ICS branches in 19 countries) who meet the ICS quality standard, has lead to our branch growing from 11 founding members to currently over 180, mainly young, members.

How to become a member

In order to become a member of the Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers (ICS), exams in 7 shipping subjects have to be passed. There are four obligatory subjects, the rest may be chosen from the remaining catalogue of exam options. The preparation for the exams offers an excellent opportunity to extend or deepen your shipping knowledge, depending on which branch you work in or what kind of experience you have gained so far. The preparation courses/exams are also designed for people who have not undergone classic shipping training. The preparation courses as well as the exams are held in English.

read more

Student Information

Further information on the subjects, exams and qualifications offered for both new and returning students is available

here

Hauke Pane

Hauke Pane

Chairman

 

 

Hauke Pane, FICS, has been involved in shipping for more than 30 years. Following an apprenticeship as a Ship Mechanic, Nautical College and some time at sea, he went ashore in 1989. He worked as a Qualified Shipping Agent (Schifffahrtskaufmann) in the position as Chartering Manager for the renowned shipping group “Hamburg-Sued” until 1998 spending time in Hamburg and London.

Read more

Jan Bartels

Jan Bartels

Vice Chairman

 

 

Jan Bartels, MICS MSc, comes from a family with a long tradition in ship owning and shipbroking. After completing his apprenticeship at the German Shipping Group H. Schuldt, he spent five years in London and Miami working for various shipbroking houses.

Read more

Sabine Etheridge

Sabine Etheridge

Secretary

 

 

Sabine Etheridge is a trained language secretary and worked for many years in various Hamburg shipping companies, first as a secretary and later on as a shipping clerk in the liner agencies of several container services. Since 2005 she has been taking care of the ICS German Branch as its secretary.

Read more

Marc Buchholz

Marc Buchholz

President

 

 

Marc Buchholz, FICS, started his career in shipping more than 20 years ago with the shipping group KG Fisser & v. Doornum GmbH & Co. in Hamburg. After completion of his shipping apprenticeship he started working in the ship operations department with Fisser & v. Doornum and later became Assistant to the Managing Partners.

Read more

Members Area

If you are a member of the ICS German Branch you can register here to get access to e.g. the German Branch membership list.

Events

Thursday, 17.09.2020 - 18:00 hrs

24 August 2020
Lecture evening "Mind the Gap 2020"               The law firm Fleet Hamburg continues their series of lecture evenings and invites all ICS members to the "Patriotische Gesellschaft", Trostbrücke 2, 20457 Hamburg                         Due to the currently valid hygiene and distancing rules the number of attendants is limited. To allow all those interested in the lectures to participate, a livestream in form of a webinar will be offered. All further details can be found in the invitation inserted below. Please register directly with Fleet Hamburg by e-mail to event@fleet-hamburg.com.  Einladung_Mind_the_Gap_2020_Hamburg.pdf Sicherheits-_und_Hygienekonzept_SAALHAUS.pdf

Wednesday, 09.09.2020 - 18:30 hrs

12 August 2020
Update: Event postponed - new date will be announced!                                                            Due to the currently overall increasing numbers of Covid-19 infections but also based on the low rate of response received on the invitation, the branch board decided to cancel the event for the time being and revert to you with a new plan at a later stage.                                                 Invitation to: Burgers, beers and more!                An event for all members of the ICS German Branch.  
Events Archive

More Events

Additional events offered worldwide by the ICS Head Office or other Branches can be found

here

News

10
Jun
2020

ICS Exams May -> July 2020

Due to the pandemic outbreak of the SARS-CoV-2 Virus the ICS postponed the exams planned for May to the month July 2020. Below please find the revised timetable. For Hamburg the exam centre needed to be changed too as the HBT Berliner Tor is closed in July due to the Hamburg school holidays. The new exam centre is located at:     RHL Reederei Hamburger Lloyd     GmbH & CO KG                                   Brooktorkai 20, 20457 Hamburg Revised_Examination_timetable_May-July_2020.pdf
16
May
2020

AGM 2020 - Information for German Branch Members

Due to the pandemic outbreak of the SARS-CoV-2 virus assemblies are still not allowed. The ICS German Branch      e. V. will therefore hold its Annual General Meeting by written circulation procedure this year. We herewith invite all branch members to take part. Below please find the written invitation, the voting sheet and the "Bericht des Vorstands" (report on the business year 2019/20 by Chairman Hauke Pane). The minutes of the AGM 2019 as well as the Treasurer's report for 2018/19 can be found in the password secured members' area of this website. All documents have also been sent to you by post or e-mail. Please return your filled-in and signed voting sheet latest by 28 May 2020! Returning your voting sheet is important as decisions taken at the AGM will only become valid if at least 50 percent of the branch members have cast their vote. Voting_sheet_AGM_2020.pdf
News Archive

More News

Additional news offered worldwide by the ICS Head Office or other Branches can be found

here

Our Word, Our Bond

Willkommen

Der Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers German Branch e. V. wurde im Februar 1996 in Hamburg als Niederlassung des Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers (ICS), London, gegründet.

Das Ziel des Vereins ist, über die Grundsätze des ICS – ein weltweit einheitliches Ausbildungsniveau sowie das Motto „Our word, our bond“ – zu informieren und diese zu fördern.
Außerdem vertritt der Verein alle in der deutschen Niederlassung registrierten Members und Fellows gegenüber der ICS Organisation in London.

Das Interesse an der international anerkannten Schifffahrtsausbildung sowie der Möglichkeit, das weltweite Netzwerk aus Experten, die alle den Qualitätsstandard des ICS erfüllen, zu nutzen, hat dazu geführt, dass der ICS German Branch e. V. von 11 Gründungsmitgliedern stetig auf zur Zeit ca. 180, überwiegend junge, Mitglieder angewachsen ist.
Weltweit sind aktuell ca. 4.000 Mitglieder entweder in einer der 25 Branches (verteilt auf 19 Länder) oder einzeln, in weiteren Ländern ohne eigene Branch, organisiert.

Wie wird man Mitglied im ICS?

Um die Mitgliedschaft im Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers (ICS) zu erlangen, müssen 7 Prüfungen aus dem Lehrangebot des ICS erfolgreich abgelegt werden. Hierbei sind vier Prüfungsfächer verbindlich vom ICS festgeschrieben: Introduction to Shipping, Shipping Business, Legal Principles in Shipping Business und Economics of Sea Transport and International Trade. Die restlichen Fächer sind frei aus dem Angebot des ICS wählbar. Die Vorbereitung auf diese Prüfungen bietet die exzellente Möglichkeit die bereits vorhandenen Schifffahrtskenntnisse zu erweitern oder zu vertiefen, je nachdem in welchem Bereich der Schifffahrt Sie bereits arbeiten, in welche Richtung Sie sich entwickeln möchten und welche Vorkenntnisse Sie mitbringen.
Das Weiterbildungsangebot und die Prüfungen sind auch für Quereinsteiger geeignet, die nicht die klassische Schifffahrtsausbildung absolviert haben.
Die Vorbereitungsprogramme sowie die Prüfungen finden in englischer Sprache statt.
Es gibt verschiedene Möglichkeiten zur Vorbereitung auf die Prüfungen:

mehr lesen

Informationen für Studenten

Weitere Informationen zum Fächerangebot, Prüfungen und Abschlüssen finden neue und auch wiederkehrende Studenten

hier

Hauke Pane

Hauke Pane

1. Vorsitzender

 

 

Hauke Pane ist seit über 30 Jahren mit dem Schifffahrtsgeschäft beruflich verbunden. Nach der Ausbildung zum Schiffsmechaniker und nautischer Ausbildung ging Hauke Pane nach mehrjähriger Seefahrtzeit 1989 an Land. Der gelernte Schifffahrtskaufmann war zunächst bis 1998 für die renommierte Reedereigruppe „Hamburg-Süd“ in Hamburg und in London tätig.

Mehr lesen

Jan Bartels

Jan Bartels

2. Vorsitzende

 

 

Jan Bartels, MICS MSc, stammt aus seiner Familie mit einer langen Reeder- und Schiffsmakler-Tradition. Nach Abschluss seiner Ausbildung zum Schifffahrtskaufmann bei der Unternehmensgruppe H. Schuldt arbeitete er fünf Jahre in London und Miami für verschiedene Schiffsmaklerfirmen.

Mehr lesen

Sabine Etheridge

Sabine Etheridge

Sekretärin

 

 

Sabine Etheridge ist ausgebildete Fremdsprachensekretärin und arbeitete viele Jahre in verschiedenen Hamburger Schifffahrtsunternehmen, zunächst als Sekretärin, später als Sachbearbeiterin in den Linienagenturen mehrerer Containerdienste. Seit 2005 führt sie das Sekretariat des deutschen Zweigs des ICS bzw. des ICS German Branch e. V.

Mehr lesen

Marc Buchholz

Marc Buchholz

Präsident

 

 

Marc Buchholz, FICS, begann seine Karriere in der Schifffahrt vor über 20 Jahre bei der Reedereigruppe KG Fisser & v. Doornum GmbH & Co. in Hamburg. Nach der Ausbildung zum Schifffahrtskaufmann war er in der Operationsabteilung bei Fisser & v. Doornum tätig. Später übernahm er die Funktion der Assistenz der Geschäftsleitung/Inhaber der Firma.

Mehr lesen

Mitgliederbereich

Wenn Sie Mitglied der ICS German Branch sind, können Sie sich hier anmelden, um zum Beispiel die Liste aller Branch-Mitglieder anzusehen.

Veranstaltungen

Donnerstag, 17.09.2020 - 18:00 Uhr

24 August 2020
Vortragsabend "Mind the Gap 2020"                  Die Kanzlei Fleet Hamburg lädt zu einer weiteren Folge der Vortragsreihe in die "Patriotische Gesellschaft", Trostbrücke 2, 20457 Hamburg ein.Auf Grund der derzeitig gültigen Hygiene- und Abstandsregeln ist die Zahl der Teilnehmer begrenzt. Um allen Interessierten das Hören der Vorträge zu ermöglichen, wird es von der Veranstaltung einen Livestream in Form eines Webinars geben. Weitere Informationen sind in der untenstehenden Einladung zu finden. Anmeldung bitte direkt bei Fleet Hamburg über die E-Mail-Adresse event@fleet-hamburg.com   Einladung_Mind_the_Gap_2020_Hamburg.pdf Sicherheits-_und_Hygienekonzept_SAALHAUS.pdf 

Mittwoch, 09.09.2020 - 18:30 Uhr

12 August 2020
Update: Veranstaltung verschoben - neues Datum wird zu gegebener Zeit veröffentlicht! Aufgrund der allgemein zur Zeit steigenden Zahl von Covid-19 Infektionen, aber auch basierend auf der zurückhaltenden Reaktion auf die Einladung, hat der Vorstand der German Branch entschieden, die Veranstaltung zunächst abzusagen. Informationen über eine neue Planung werden so bald wie möglich bekanntgegeben.                                       Einladung zu Burgers, beers and more             Eine Veranstaltung für alle Mitglieder der German Branch des ICS.   
Veranstaltungen Archiv

Mehr Veranstaltungen

Weitere weltweit vom ICS Head Office und anderen Branches angebotene Veranstaltungen finden Sie

hier

Nachrichten

10
Jun
2020

ICS Prüfungen Mai -> Juli 2020

Auf Grund des pandemischen Ausbruchs des SARS-CoV-2 Virus hat das ICS die für Mai geplanten Prüfungen in den Monat Juli verschoben. Untenstehend der neue Terminplan zum Herunterladen. Auch der Prüfungsort hat sich geändert, da wegen der im Juli bereits begonnenen Hamburger Schulferien die HBT geschlossen ist. Der neue Prüfungsort ist:                                                         RHL Reederei Hamburger Lloyd           GmbH & CO KG                        Brooktorkai 20, 20457 Hamburg               Geänderte_Prüfungstermine_Mai-Juli_2020.pdf
16
May
2020

Mitgliederversammlung 2020 - Information für Mitglieder!

Auf Grund des pandemischen Ausbruchs des SARS-CoV-2 Virus sind Versammlungen nach wie vor nicht erlaubt. Der ICS German Branch e. V. wird daher in diesem Jahr die ordentliche Mitgliederversammlung im schriftlichen Umlaufverfahren durchführen. Wir laden euch hiermit zur Teilnahme ein. Untenstehend findet ihr das Einladungsschreiben, den Abstimmungsbogen und den Bericht des Vorstands zum GJ 2019/20. Das Protokoll der Mitgliederversammlung 2019 und die Informationen zum Kassenbericht 2018/19 sind im geschützten Mitgliederbereich eingestellt. Alle Unterlagen wurden euch auch per Post oder E-Mail übermittelt. Bitte Rücksendung der Abstimmungsbögen bis spätestens zum 28.05.2020! Nur wenn 50 % aller Mitglieder der German Branch gültige Stimmen abgeben, werden die Beschlüsse gültig und die Mitgliederversammlung anerkannt. Abstimmungsbogen_MV_2020.pdf
Nachrichten Archiv

Mehr Nachrichten

Weitere Nachrichten zu den weltweiten Aktivitäten des ICS Head Office und anderer Branches finden Sie

hier